Moondog on the streets

NEWS


BIO

New York, winter of 1949: strange sounds emanate for the first time from a porch alongside the Avenue of the Americas (51 st Street) or from 2 W 46th Street. Later on, on 425 W 57th Street, these unusual rhythms, drawn from improbable instruments, would accompany the sirens of ships moored on a misty Hudson. At other times, they would mark a pause between two conversations held at the corner of 51st Street and 6th Avenue between onlookers and the creator of these rhythms:Moondog. For nearly twenty-five years, the man who was quickly nicknamed the Viking of 6th Avenue – due to his personal connection to Manhattan and his extravagant look – accompanied the daily life of New Yorkers by playing his music in the streets on percussive instruments of his own making.

New York, summer of 2019: seventy years later, three musicians will visit the streets of New York, Moondog’s favorite ground. There, they will pay tribute to the street music imagined by one of the first Dharma Bums. With a singular instrumentarium designed for this occasion, they will find themselves, during four urban performances, in the shoes of this forgotten genius.

LINE-UP

Jean-Brice Godet : clarinets, k7
Stéphane Garin : trimba, percussions
Thomas Bonvalet : six-string bass banjo, mechanical metronome, tuning forks, claves, hand and foot clapping, bells, mouth organ fragments, concertina, componiums, “stringin it”, drumhead
* Creation by Murailles MusicL’Usine Cnarep de Tournefeuille, the Studio d’en Haut and the Ville de Toulouse.
with the support of l’Institut français à Paris et la Ville de Nantes

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com


Past shows

Click on "date", "city" or "venue" to change the list display
  • DateCountryCityVenuewith 
  • 23/06/2019FranceNew YorkSpectrumAmaury Cornutinfos
  • 22/06/2019FranceNew YorkProspect Park
  • 22/06/2019FranceNew YorkLe BarbèsGavin Blackinfos
  • 21/06/2019FranceNew York Moondog's Cornerinfos
  • 02/06/2019FranceLabègeSaison itinérante d’ARTO, Maison Salvaninfos
  • 01/06/2019FranceSaint-GaudensFestival Jazz en comminges, Pronomadesinfos event
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulouseBibliothèque du Périgord event
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulouseBasilique Saint Sernin
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulousePlace Saint Pierre event

NEWS

BIO

New York, winter of 1949: strange sounds emanate for the first time from a porch alongside the Avenue of the Americas (51 st Street) or from 2 W 46th Street. Later on, on 425 W 57th Street, these unusual rhythms, drawn from improbable instruments, would accompany the sirens of ships moored on a misty Hudson. At other times, they would mark a pause between two conversations held at the corner of 51st Street and 6th Avenue between onlookers and the creator of these rhythms:Moondog. For nearly twenty-five years, the man who was quickly nicknamed the Viking of 6th Avenue – due to his personal connection to Manhattan and his extravagant look – accompanied the daily life of New Yorkers by playing his music in the streets on percussive instruments of his own making.

New York, summer of 2019: seventy years later, three musicians will visit the streets of New York, Moondog’s favorite ground. There, they will pay tribute to the street music imagined by one of the first Dharma Bums. With a singular instrumentarium designed for this occasion, they will find themselves, during four urban performances, in the shoes of this forgotten genius.

LINE-UP

Jean-Brice Godet : clarinets, k7
Stéphane Garin : trimba, percussions
Thomas Bonvalet : six-string bass banjo, mechanical metronome, tuning forks, claves, hand and foot clapping, bells, mouth organ fragments, concertina, componiums, “stringin it”, drumhead
* Creation by Murailles MusicL’Usine Cnarep de Tournefeuille, the Studio d’en Haut and the Ville de Toulouse.
with the support of l’Institut français à Paris et la Ville de Nantes

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

Moondog on the streets

NEWS


BIO

New York, hiver 1949, on entend pour la première fois d’étranges percussions émaner d’un porche le long de l’Avenue of the Americas (51st Street) ou du numéro 2 de la West 46th Street. Plus tard, au 425 West 57th Street, ces rythmes inusités tirés d’instruments improbables, accompagnent les sirènes de bateaux amarrés à un Hudson brumeux. D’autre fois encore ils marquent une pause entre deux conversations tenues à l’angle de la 51st Street et de la 6th Avenue entre des badauds et l’auteurs de ces rythmes : Moondog. Pendant près de vingt-cinq ans, celui qu’on surnomma rapidement « le Viking de la 6ème Avenue » – en raison de son attachement à Manhattan et de son look extravagant – accompagna le quotidien des new-yorkais en jouant, à même l’asphalte, sa musique sur des instruments de percussion de sa propre fabrication. Aujourd’hui les musiciens Stéphane Garin, Jean-Brice Godet et Thomas Bonvalet entendent rendre hommage aux musiques de rue imaginées par ce clochard céleste de la première heure. À l’aide d’un instrumentarium singulier conçu pour l’occasion ils se retrouvent, le temps d’une performance urbaine, dans la peau de ce génie oublié.

FORMATION
Jean-Brice Godet
(clarinettes, k7)
Stéphane Garin (trimba, percussions)
Thomas Bonvalet (banjo basse six cordes, métronome mécanique, diapasons, claves, frappements de pieds et de mains, cloches, fragments d’orgue à bouche, concertina, componiums, « stringin it », peau de tambour)

* Création Murailles Music, L’Usine Cnarep de Tournefeuille et la ville de Toulouse.
avec le soutien de l’Institut français à Paris et la Ville de Nantes

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com


Concerts passés

Cliquez sur "date ", "ville" or "salle" pour changer l'ordre
  • DatePaysVilleSalleavec 
  • 23/06/2019FranceNew YorkSpectrumAmaury Cornutinfos
  • 22/06/2019FranceNew YorkProspect Park
  • 22/06/2019FranceNew YorkLe BarbèsGavin Blackinfos
  • 21/06/2019FranceNew York Moondog's Cornerinfos
  • 02/06/2019FranceLabègeSaison itinérante d’ARTO, Maison Salvaninfos
  • 01/06/2019FranceSaint-GaudensFestival Jazz en comminges, Pronomadesinfos event
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulouseBibliothèque du Périgord event
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulouseBasilique Saint Sernin
  • 31/05/2019FranceToulousePlace Saint Pierre event

NEWS

BIO

New York, hiver 1949, on entend pour la première fois d’étranges percussions émaner d’un porche le long de l’Avenue of the Americas (51st Street) ou du numéro 2 de la West 46th Street. Plus tard, au 425 West 57th Street, ces rythmes inusités tirés d’instruments improbables, accompagnent les sirènes de bateaux amarrés à un Hudson brumeux. D’autre fois encore ils marquent une pause entre deux conversations tenues à l’angle de la 51st Street et de la 6th Avenue entre des badauds et l’auteurs de ces rythmes : Moondog. Pendant près de vingt-cinq ans, celui qu’on surnomma rapidement « le Viking de la 6ème Avenue » – en raison de son attachement à Manhattan et de son look extravagant – accompagna le quotidien des new-yorkais en jouant, à même l’asphalte, sa musique sur des instruments de percussion de sa propre fabrication. Aujourd’hui les musiciens Stéphane Garin, Jean-Brice Godet et Thomas Bonvalet entendent rendre hommage aux musiques de rue imaginées par ce clochard céleste de la première heure. À l’aide d’un instrumentarium singulier conçu pour l’occasion ils se retrouvent, le temps d’une performance urbaine, dans la peau de ce génie oublié.

FORMATION
Jean-Brice Godet
(clarinettes, k7)
Stéphane Garin (trimba, percussions)
Thomas Bonvalet (banjo basse six cordes, métronome mécanique, diapasons, claves, frappements de pieds et de mains, cloches, fragments d’orgue à bouche, concertina, componiums, « stringin it », peau de tambour)

* Création Murailles Music, L’Usine Cnarep de Tournefeuille et la ville de Toulouse.
avec le soutien de l’Institut français à Paris et la Ville de Nantes

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com