‘Qui parle ombre’ – Gavin Bryars & Midget!

BIO

Midget!’s latest album, ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ (Close your pretty skies), reached the ears of the British composer Gavin Bryars through Bertrand Belin, who was performing one of his operas at the time. It turns out that this record owes a lot to the work of the English, both in its form and in the ideas that animate it.

During the conception of ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ and especially of the opening title ‘Premier Soleil’, the duo had in mind the circulatory movement of the cellos of ‘The Sinking of the Titanic’, and the incantatory and repetitive motives of his other masterpiece ‘Jesus Blood never failed me yet’.

Gavin Bryars was the first to express a wish to work together. Reflecting on the form this collaboration could take, Midget! then decided to entrust him with the composition of the orchestral arrangements for the next album. Thus, continuing the work begun with ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ towards the realization of a modest symphony with few means, the duo invites Gavin Bryars as the conductor to melt their new compositions into a unique piece thanks to his genius of timbres and materials.

The idea underlying this work, which began as early as the composition and is to be continued with Gavin Bryars’ arrangements, is to find an articulation between art music and popular music. The artists summon a musical heritage – which is equally interested in the microtonal questionings of Janacek («Jenufa») and Ben Johnston – to which they add the modernity of a song devoid of operatic lyricism (as it was conceived at the beginning of the 20th century) and a polyphonic approach nourished by the recent work of composers such as Caroline Shaw.

The ensemble will consist of a four-person choir, an octet composed of violin, viola, cello, flute, bassoon, oboe, vibraphone/timbals and Gavin Bryars himself on double bass. Midget! will collaborate for this purpose with the protean Ensemble 0 for the instrumental part and Macadam for the vocal polyphony. There is no doubt that the versatile virtuosity of these ensembles will serve the project wonderfully.

LINE-UP

Claire Vailler : Vocals
Mocke : Guitar
.
Ensemble 0 (Nonette) :
Tomoko Katsura : violin
Carla Pallone : viola
Céline Flamen : cello
Nour Trottier : flute
Julien Pontvianne : clarinet
Sophie Bernado : bassoon
Nicolas Chedmail : horn
Stéphane Garin : percussion
Youen Cadiou : contrabass
.
Macadam Ensemble (Vocals) :
Alice Kamenesky : choir
Anaïs Vintour : choir
Corinne Bahuaud : choir
Marie Pouchelon : choir
Etienne Ferchaud : conductor

Composition: Midget ! (Claire Vailler / Mocke)
Arrangements: Gavin Bryars

Coproduction : Murailles Music, La Soufflerie – Scène conventionnée de Rezé
With the support of the CNM and Spedidam

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo: promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com


events

BIO

Midget!’s latest album, ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ (Close your pretty skies), reached the ears of the British composer Gavin Bryars through Bertrand Belin, who was performing one of his operas at the time. It turns out that this record owes a lot to the work of the English, both in its form and in the ideas that animate it.

During the conception of ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ and especially of the opening title ‘Premier Soleil’, the duo had in mind the circulatory movement of the cellos of ‘The Sinking of the Titanic’, and the incantatory and repetitive motives of his other masterpiece ‘Jesus Blood never failed me yet’.

Gavin Bryars was the first to express a wish to work together. Reflecting on the form this collaboration could take, Midget! then decided to entrust him with the composition of the orchestral arrangements for the next album. Thus, continuing the work begun with ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ towards the realization of a modest symphony with few means, the duo invites Gavin Bryars as the conductor to melt their new compositions into a unique piece thanks to his genius of timbres and materials.

The idea underlying this work, which began as early as the composition and is to be continued with Gavin Bryars’ arrangements, is to find an articulation between art music and popular music. The artists summon a musical heritage – which is equally interested in the microtonal questionings of Janacek («Jenufa») and Ben Johnston – to which they add the modernity of a song devoid of operatic lyricism (as it was conceived at the beginning of the 20th century) and a polyphonic approach nourished by the recent work of composers such as Caroline Shaw.

The ensemble will consist of a four-person choir, an octet composed of violin, viola, cello, flute, bassoon, oboe, vibraphone/timbals and Gavin Bryars himself on double bass. Midget! will collaborate for this purpose with the protean Ensemble 0 for the instrumental part and Macadam for the vocal polyphony. There is no doubt that the versatile virtuosity of these ensembles will serve the project wonderfully.

LINE-UP

Claire Vailler : Vocals
Mocke : Guitar
.
Ensemble 0 (Nonette) :
Tomoko Katsura : violin
Carla Pallone : viola
Céline Flamen : cello
Nour Trottier : flute
Julien Pontvianne : clarinet
Sophie Bernado : bassoon
Nicolas Chedmail : horn
Stéphane Garin : percussion
Youen Cadiou : contrabass
.
Macadam Ensemble (Vocals) :
Alice Kamenesky : choir
Anaïs Vintour : choir
Corinne Bahuaud : choir
Marie Pouchelon : choir
Etienne Ferchaud : conductor

Composition: Midget ! (Claire Vailler / Mocke)
Arrangements: Gavin Bryars

Coproduction : Murailles Music, La Soufflerie – Scène conventionnée de Rezé
With the support of the CNM and Spedidam

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo: promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

‘Qui parle ombre’ – Gavin Bryars & Midget!

BIO

Le dernier album de Midget !, ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’, est parvenu aux oreilles du compositeur britannique Gavin Bryars par l’entremise de Bertrand Belin qui interprétait alors l’un de ses opéras. Il s’avère justement que ce disque doit beaucoup au travail de l’anglais, tant dans sa forme que dans les idées qui l’animent.

Lors de la conception de ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ et tout particulièrement du titre d’ouverture ‘Premier Soleil’, le duo avait en effet eu en tête le mouvement circulatoire des violoncelles de ‘The Sinking of the Titanic’, et les motifs incantatoires et répétitifs de son autre chef d’œuvre ‘Jesus Blood never failed me yet’.

Gavin Bryars a le premier émis le voeu d’un travail commun. Réfléchissant à la forme que pourrait prendre cette collaboration, Midget ! a alors décidé de lui confier la composition des arrangements orchestraux du prochain album. Ainsi, en poursuivant le travail amorcé avec ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ vers la réalisation d’une symphonie modeste avec peu de moyens, le duo invite Gavin Bryars comme chef d’orchestre pour fondre ses nouvelles compositions en une pièce unique grâce à son génie des timbres et des matières.

L’idée qui sous-tend ce travail, amorcée dès la composition et poursuivie avec les arrangements de Gavin Bryars, est de trouver une articulation entre musique savante et populaire. Les artistes convoquent un patrimoine musical – qui s’intéresse tout aussi bien aux questionnements microtonaux de Janacek (« Jenufa ») que de Ben Johnston – auquel ils apposent la modernité d’un chant dénué du lyrisme opératique (tel qu’on le concevait au début du 20ème siècle) et une approche polyphonique se nourrissant des récents travaux de compositrices comme Caroline Shaw.

L’ensemble sera constitué d’un chœur de quatre personnes, d’un octuor composé de violon, alto, violoncelle, flûte, basson, hautbois, vibraphone /timbales et de Gavin Bryars lui-même à la contrebasse. Midget ! collaborera à cet effet avec les protéiformes Ensemble 0 pour la partie instrumentale et Macadam pour la polyphonie vocale. Nulle doute que la virtuosité versatile de ces ensembles saura servir à merveille le projet.

DISTRIBUTION :
.
Claire Vailler : Chant
Mocke : Guitare
.
Ensemble 0 (Nonette) :
Tomoko Katsura : violon
Carla Pallone : alto
Céline Flamen : violoncelle
Nour Trottier : flûte
Julien Pontvianne : clarinette
Sophie Bernado : basson
Nicolas Chedmail : cor
Stéphane Garin : percussions
Youen Cadiou : contrebasse
.
Macadam Ensemble (Chœur) :
Alice Kameneskychœur
Anaïs Vintourchœur
Corinne Bahuaudchœur
Marie Pouchelonchœur
Etienne Ferchaudchef de chœur
Composition : Midget ! (Claire Vailler / Mocke)
Arrangements : Gavin Bryars
Co-production : Murailles Music, La Soufflerie – Scène conventionnée de Rezé
Avec l’aide du CNM et de la Spedidam

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo: promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com


agenda

BIO

Le dernier album de Midget !, ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’, est parvenu aux oreilles du compositeur britannique Gavin Bryars par l’entremise de Bertrand Belin qui interprétait alors l’un de ses opéras. Il s’avère justement que ce disque doit beaucoup au travail de l’anglais, tant dans sa forme que dans les idées qui l’animent.

Lors de la conception de ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ et tout particulièrement du titre d’ouverture ‘Premier Soleil’, le duo avait en effet eu en tête le mouvement circulatoire des violoncelles de ‘The Sinking of the Titanic’, et les motifs incantatoires et répétitifs de son autre chef d’œuvre ‘Jesus Blood never failed me yet’.

Gavin Bryars a le premier émis le voeu d’un travail commun. Réfléchissant à la forme que pourrait prendre cette collaboration, Midget ! a alors décidé de lui confier la composition des arrangements orchestraux du prochain album. Ainsi, en poursuivant le travail amorcé avec ‘Ferme tes jolis cieux’ vers la réalisation d’une symphonie modeste avec peu de moyens, le duo invite Gavin Bryars comme chef d’orchestre pour fondre ses nouvelles compositions en une pièce unique grâce à son génie des timbres et des matières.

L’idée qui sous-tend ce travail, amorcée dès la composition et poursuivie avec les arrangements de Gavin Bryars, est de trouver une articulation entre musique savante et populaire. Les artistes convoquent un patrimoine musical – qui s’intéresse tout aussi bien aux questionnements microtonaux de Janacek (« Jenufa ») que de Ben Johnston – auquel ils apposent la modernité d’un chant dénué du lyrisme opératique (tel qu’on le concevait au début du 20ème siècle) et une approche polyphonique se nourrissant des récents travaux de compositrices comme Caroline Shaw.

L’ensemble sera constitué d’un chœur de quatre personnes, d’un octuor composé de violon, alto, violoncelle, flûte, basson, hautbois, vibraphone /timbales et de Gavin Bryars lui-même à la contrebasse. Midget ! collaborera à cet effet avec les protéiformes Ensemble 0 pour la partie instrumentale et Macadam pour la polyphonie vocale. Nulle doute que la virtuosité versatile de ces ensembles saura servir à merveille le projet.

DISTRIBUTION :
.
Claire Vailler : Chant
Mocke : Guitare
.
Ensemble 0 (Nonette) :
Tomoko Katsura : violon
Carla Pallone : alto
Céline Flamen : violoncelle
Nour Trottier : flûte
Julien Pontvianne : clarinette
Sophie Bernado : basson
Nicolas Chedmail : cor
Stéphane Garin : percussions
Youen Cadiou : contrebasse
.
Macadam Ensemble (Chœur) :
Alice Kameneskychœur
Anaïs Vintourchœur
Corinne Bahuaudchœur
Marie Pouchelonchœur
Etienne Ferchaudchef de chœur
Composition : Midget ! (Claire Vailler / Mocke)
Arrangements : Gavin Bryars
Co-production : Murailles Music, La Soufflerie – Scène conventionnée de Rezé
Avec l’aide du CNM et de la Spedidam

CONTACT

Booking : amaury.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com
Promo: promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com