La Terre Tremble !!!

NEWS


BIO

For the past ten years, La Terre Tremble !!! have been constantly redefining their own limits. With each new album, the trio question their inner musical tectonics while pursuing an obsessive quest for a chimerical and detail-laden sound; something enigmatic and delicately chaotic, equally as obvious and melodical as intelligent and sophisticated. Faced with the impossibility of bringing the world to a standstill, the three bandit experimenters strive towards slightly deformed and timeless idiosyncrasies, taking musical genres as frames to be transcended and sound (whether electric, acoustic or electronic) as a raw material for precise aural constructions, which tend to be just as heady as insidious. Their latest release is entitled ‘Fauxbourdon’ and it might just take you the same amount of time to tame it as it did for La Terre Tremble !!! to bring it into existence.

In 2005, three multi-instrumentalist tinkerers hailing from Rennes and Clermont-Ferrand  – Julien Chevalier, Benoît Lauby and Paul Loiseau – came together to form La TT !!!, rising to critical acclaim with the release of the album ‘Travail’ in 2009. In 2012 the slightly tragical and rhapsodic ‘Salvage Blues’ followed, overflowing with martial and extraterrestrial blues, sounding almost psychedelic but not quite. At the time the band was therefore categorised in turns as progressive, experimental, labyrinthine, post-punk, folk-rock, electronic, industrial, krautrock, math-rock, new wave… So many labels which testify to the sheer vertigo one feels when trying to pinpoint their sound. But La TT!!! was perhaps simply aiming to confront “pop” music with something a little more highbrow. On stage however, the band has become rather raw, boasting a makeshift drumkit which gets abuse from a doubled-up singer, two lunatic guitars and a load of electronic mess. They also spent three years cruising venues with their impressive cinema-concert ‘Tom & Jerry’, projecting obscure surrealist cartoons with a 1930s feel accompanied by a more electronic and acoustic instrumentation, rather than the usually very frontal amplified show.

And now ‘Fauxbourdon’ surfaces, constituting a collection of ten both gentle yet menacing tracks which come across as both uncanny and delicately anxiogenic: it’s somewhat like observing the boiling point of life, which rushes by, always just about to explode. Indeed, the band’s inspiration for the album seems to originate somewhere around 1956 with Don Siegel’s masterpiece ‘Invasion of the Body Snatchers‘, but we can also mention Friedkin, Peckinpah, Frankenheimer and Aldrich as having a certain influence. The ‘Faux Bourdon‘ (False Bass) mentioned in the album’s title is less of a hint towards a continuous, musical tone than a suggestion of a mysterious background noise that embraces our existence; a dull, inaudible murmur, an invisible yet omnipresent fog, the atmosphere of the suburbs as conceived by John Carpenter, or the resounding reverberation of a past explosion.

We are certainly dealing with La TT !!!’s strangest album to date, whose compositional style oscillates constantly between something alien and freaky, gracious and dark. The vocals are ever more subtle and distant, the guitars more ghostly; thus leaving space for synthetic tones and primitive rhythms that can’t quite be described as electronic. One might be tempted to class the album as contorted futurist ballads, or progressive R’n’B, or even fake soundtracks for Italian cinema. Nods towards Japanese synthpop masters Ryuichi Sakamoto & Haruomi Hosono are skillfully disseminated here and there, alongside reminiscences of Ennio Morricone’s compositions for Elio Petri, hints of experimental library music (think BBC Workshop, White Noise, John Baker, or Aphex Twin’s modified pianos and drums), and a whiff of Robert Wyatt, Syd Barrett or Arto Lindsay. Beautiful and ample vocal harmonies filter through, emanating from a sunless, autarchical California inhabited by Brian Wilson’s neurasthenic ghost from the “Smiley Smile” period. We are also reminded of weird tracks by Curt Boettcher (Sagittarius, The Millennium) or Jim O’Rourke’s experimental pop. Last but not least we bump into Ernest Bergez aka Sourdure, letting rip in Occitan on one track and Samplerman (other alias: Yvang), the enigmatic artist who can take credit for the album cover executed in a zany collage style.

Devoted to melodical obviousness just as much as to electro-acoustic experimentation, cultivators of pure presence as much as of an imaginary (continental?) drift, La Terre Tremble !!! seems to cry out louder than ever with this release:  ‘Less is more… but more is better !’

LINE-UP
Julien Chevalier : guitar, synthesizers, vocals
Benoît Lauby : guitar, bass, synthesizers, autoharp, vocals
Paul Loiseau : drums, percussions, synthesizers, guitar, autoharp, keyboards, piano, vocals


LINKS


PRESS


CONTACT

Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

Promo (Juliette) : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

DISCOGRAPHIE

  • Fauxbourdon

    Murailles Music2017
    CD / LP / digital
    Buy
  • Salvage Blues

    Murailles Music2012
    CD / LP / Digital
    Buy
  • Travail

    Collectif-Effervescence2009
    CD / Digital
    Buy
  • Travail

    Murailles Music2009
    LP / Digital
    Buy
  • Trompe L’Oeil

    Whosbrain Records2007
    CD
    Buy
  • Brouillon

    demo2005
    CD

Past shows

Click on "date", "city" or "venue" to change the list display
  • DateCountryCityVenuewith 
  • 15/12/2017FranceMassyPaul BOiseaux Tempêtes, L'Effondras infos event
  • 18/11/2017FranceMetzFestival Musiques Volantes - Les TrinitairesKokoko!, France, Up-Tight, Spoek Mathambo infos event
  • 17/11/2017FranceParisCentre FGO BarbaraPowerdoveinfos event
  • 16/11/2017FranceJoué-les-ToursLe Temps MachineBison Bisouinfos event
  • 15/11/2017FranceNantesHaus event
  • 14/11/2017FranceCaenLe BazarnaomPowerdove
  • 11/11/2017FranceBrestEn attendant Invisible - Le P'tit MinouValse Noot event
  • 10/11/2017FranceRennesL'AntipodeBRNS, Peter Kernel & Their wicked orchestrainfos event
  • 23/09/2017FrancePoitiersFestival Less Playboy is More Cowboy Yonatan Gat, LpLpo, Noyades, Sourdure, Acid Baby Jesus, Derby Derby, Don't DJ, NOT WAVINGinfos event
  • 22/09/2017FrancePauLa Ferronnerie event
  • 21/09/2017FranceBeauregard (Lot)Le Presbyt'hairMy Name is Nobody
  • 10/06/2017FranceNancyFestival Stereolitheinfos event
  • 09/06/2017FranceLyonLe Périscope infos event
  • 08/06/2017FranceAngersHeron Carré - « Le Chabada sort ce soir » infos event
  • 01/06/2017FranceRennesL'UbuAquasergeinfos event
  • 30/05/2017FranceParisLa Station - Gare des MinesWinter Family event
  • 13/05/2017FranceNantesFestival Wine Nat White Heat event
  • 12/05/2017FranceLanvéocFestival L'Ex-Îleinfos event
  • 05/05/2017FranceQuimperLe NovomaxOiseaux Tempêteinfos event
  • 21/04/2017FranceBordeauxIboatFujiya & Miyagiinfos event
  • 15/04/2017FranceParisGonzaï Night - La MaroquinerieChocolat, Mustanginfos event
  • 18/03/2017FranceRennesLes Agités du Bocal - Sonic Protest Festival178°, The Flying Luttenbachersinfos event
  • 17/03/2017FranceAllonnesPéniche ExcelsiorTomagainfos event
  • 01/03/2017FranceParisLe TrianonBlonde Redheadinfos event
  • 17/04/2015FranceSegréRépublique du RoCk #2 - Les Boissons RougesMy Name is Nobody, Fat Supper, Musicsova, Cavale Blanche event
  • 21/06/2014FranceLimogne-en-Quercy (46)Fête de la MusiqueFat Supper
  • 19/06/2014FranceSaint-Pierre-des-CorpsLe RexyFat Supperinfos
  • 23/05/2014FranceRennesFestival Musiqu'alambic, Le Jardin Moderneinfos event
  • 26/04/2014FranceNantesFestival Kraft, Pol'ninfos event
  • 26/10/2013FranceVendômeFestival Les Rockomotivesinfos
  • 22/10/2013FranceTroyesOff festival Champagnesinfos
  • 24/08/2013FranceCarellesFestival Terra Incognita infos event
  • 20/07/2013FranceColmarFestival du Natala
  • 15/06/2013FranceRupt-sur-Moselle (88) RUPT'URE FEST ( L'Espace Parier - Centre socio-culturel )Peter Kernel, Marvin & Kribi
  • 14/06/2013FranceParisL'Espace B Guili Guili Goulag, Kania Tieffer event
  • 18/05/2013FranceChateaulinFestival Sonore - Run ar Puns Oren Ambarchi, Thomas Lehn, Urs Leimgruber, Okkyung Lee, Jacques Demierre, Roger Turner, Dorothea Shurchinfos
  • 17/05/2013FranceLilleGare St SauveurThe Patriotic Sundayinfos
  • 09/05/2013FranceRouenShari Vari event
  • 08/05/2013FranceBourges L'EmmetropPeter Kernelinfos
  • 07/05/2013FranceBordeauxRock School BarbeySpectrum event
  • 23/03/2013FranceRennesL'Antipode - Festival 'Les Embellies'Boy and the Echo Choir, Bumpkin Island, Arch Woodman event
  • 22/03/2013FranceAgenLe FloridaElectric Electricinfos event
  • 16/03/2013FranceCherbourgLittle big placeinfos event
  • 15/03/2013FranceVilleneuve d'AscqLa Ferme d'en hautJune Bug and the Storytellersinfos event
  • 14/03/2013FranceLa Roche sur YonLe Fuzz'YonThe Exinfos event
  • 13/03/2013FranceLe Mans Le Baroufinfos event
  • 22/02/2013FranceBiarritzL'Atabale Piano Chatinfos
  • 21/02/2013FrancePauLa Centrifugeuseinfos
  • 20/02/2013FranceEscamp (46) Bar à T'Minfos event
  • 15/02/2013FranceMetzLes TrinitairesFiliamotsainfos
  • 19/01/2013ArgenteuilLa cave dimièreElectric Electricinfos
  • 12/01/2013AmiensLa Lune des PiratesHeadwarinfos event
  • 11/01/2013ParisLa MaroquinerieJC Satan, Catholic Sprayinfos
  • 10/01/2013NantesLe StakhanovSieur & Dameinfos event
  • 21/12/2012BordeauxLe Saint-Exinfos
  • 21/12/2012Bordeauxle Saint-Ex
  • 20/12/2012CahorsCafé musique des Docks
  • 19/12/2012ToulouseLe Saint des seinsinfos
  • 18/12/2012MontpellierLe Black Sheep
  • 18/12/2012MontpellierLe Black Sheepinfos
  • 16/12/2012PerpignanL'Ubu event
  • 15/12/2012Marseille Festival Nuit d'Hiver - Le Griminfos
  • 13/12/2012Le HavreLe Tetris
  • 01/12/2012St HerblainBibliothèque Hermelandinfos
  • 24/11/2012St NazaireLe Vip
  • 21/11/2012RennesBibliothèque Lucien Rose et du jardin
  • 17/11/2012ReimsFestival Pacemaker - Centre culturel du Crousinfos
  • 16/11/2012LyonLe Périscope
  • 15/11/2012GrenobleLa Bobine
  • 12/11/2012NantesLe Stereolux
  • 10/11/2012LimogesLa fourmi
  • 23/10/2012ParisLe Point Éphémère

NEWS

BIO

For the past ten years, La Terre Tremble !!! have been constantly redefining their own limits. With each new album, the trio question their inner musical tectonics while pursuing an obsessive quest for a chimerical and detail-laden sound; something enigmatic and delicately chaotic, equally as obvious and melodical as intelligent and sophisticated. Faced with the impossibility of bringing the world to a standstill, the three bandit experimenters strive towards slightly deformed and timeless idiosyncrasies, taking musical genres as frames to be transcended and sound (whether electric, acoustic or electronic) as a raw material for precise aural constructions, which tend to be just as heady as insidious. Their latest release is entitled ‘Fauxbourdon’ and it might just take you the same amount of time to tame it as it did for La Terre Tremble !!! to bring it into existence.

In 2005, three multi-instrumentalist tinkerers hailing from Rennes and Clermont-Ferrand  – Julien Chevalier, Benoît Lauby and Paul Loiseau – came together to form La TT !!!, rising to critical acclaim with the release of the album ‘Travail’ in 2009. In 2012 the slightly tragical and rhapsodic ‘Salvage Blues’ followed, overflowing with martial and extraterrestrial blues, sounding almost psychedelic but not quite. At the time the band was therefore categorised in turns as progressive, experimental, labyrinthine, post-punk, folk-rock, electronic, industrial, krautrock, math-rock, new wave… So many labels which testify to the sheer vertigo one feels when trying to pinpoint their sound. But La TT!!! was perhaps simply aiming to confront “pop” music with something a little more highbrow. On stage however, the band has become rather raw, boasting a makeshift drumkit which gets abuse from a doubled-up singer, two lunatic guitars and a load of electronic mess. They also spent three years cruising venues with their impressive cinema-concert ‘Tom & Jerry’, projecting obscure surrealist cartoons with a 1930s feel accompanied by a more electronic and acoustic instrumentation, rather than the usually very frontal amplified show.

And now ‘Fauxbourdon’ surfaces, constituting a collection of ten both gentle yet menacing tracks which come across as both uncanny and delicately anxiogenic: it’s somewhat like observing the boiling point of life, which rushes by, always just about to explode. Indeed, the band’s inspiration for the album seems to originate somewhere around 1956 with Don Siegel’s masterpiece ‘Invasion of the Body Snatchers‘, but we can also mention Friedkin, Peckinpah, Frankenheimer and Aldrich as having a certain influence. The ‘Faux Bourdon‘ (False Bass) mentioned in the album’s title is less of a hint towards a continuous, musical tone than a suggestion of a mysterious background noise that embraces our existence; a dull, inaudible murmur, an invisible yet omnipresent fog, the atmosphere of the suburbs as conceived by John Carpenter, or the resounding reverberation of a past explosion.

We are certainly dealing with La TT !!!’s strangest album to date, whose compositional style oscillates constantly between something alien and freaky, gracious and dark. The vocals are ever more subtle and distant, the guitars more ghostly; thus leaving space for synthetic tones and primitive rhythms that can’t quite be described as electronic. One might be tempted to class the album as contorted futurist ballads, or progressive R’n’B, or even fake soundtracks for Italian cinema. Nods towards Japanese synthpop masters Ryuichi Sakamoto & Haruomi Hosono are skillfully disseminated here and there, alongside reminiscences of Ennio Morricone’s compositions for Elio Petri, hints of experimental library music (think BBC Workshop, White Noise, John Baker, or Aphex Twin’s modified pianos and drums), and a whiff of Robert Wyatt, Syd Barrett or Arto Lindsay. Beautiful and ample vocal harmonies filter through, emanating from a sunless, autarchical California inhabited by Brian Wilson’s neurasthenic ghost from the “Smiley Smile” period. We are also reminded of weird tracks by Curt Boettcher (Sagittarius, The Millennium) or Jim O’Rourke’s experimental pop. Last but not least we bump into Ernest Bergez aka Sourdure, letting rip in Occitan on one track and Samplerman (other alias: Yvang), the enigmatic artist who can take credit for the album cover executed in a zany collage style.

Devoted to melodical obviousness just as much as to electro-acoustic experimentation, cultivators of pure presence as much as of an imaginary (continental?) drift, La Terre Tremble !!! seems to cry out louder than ever with this release:  ‘Less is more… but more is better !’

LINE-UP
Julien Chevalier : guitar, synthesizers, vocals
Benoît Lauby : guitar, bass, synthesizers, autoharp, vocals
Paul Loiseau : drums, percussions, synthesizers, guitar, autoharp, keyboards, piano, vocals

LINKS

PRESS

DISCOGRAPHIE

  • Fauxbourdon

    Murailles Music2017
    CD / LP / digital
    Buy
  • Salvage Blues

    Murailles Music2012
    CD / LP / Digital
    Buy
  • Travail

    Collectif-Effervescence2009
    CD / Digital
    Buy
  • Travail

    Murailles Music2009
    LP / Digital
    Buy
  • Trompe L’Oeil

    Whosbrain Records2007
    CD
    Buy
  • Brouillon

    demo2005
    CD

CONTACT

Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

Promo (Juliette) : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

La Terre Tremble !!!

NEWS


BIO

Cela fait maintenant dix ans que le trio La Terre Tremble !!! redéfinit à chaque nouvel album ses propres frontières, sa tectonique musicale intime, poursuivant sa quête obsessionnelle d’une musique chimérique et fourmillante de détails, illusionniste et délicatement chaotique, aussi évidente et mélodieuse que savante et sophistiquée. A défaut de pouvoir « arrêter le monde », les trois voyous expérimentateurs tendent toujours vers un particularisme un peu difforme et hors du temps, prenant le genre musical comme un cadre à transcender, et le son – qu’il soit électrique, acoustique ou électronique – comme matière première de constructions aurales précises, précieuses, aussi entêtantes qu’insidieuses. Leur nouveau disque s’appelle ’Fauxbourdon’, et qui sait, il vous faudra peutêtre autant de temps pour l’apprivoiser qu’il leur en aura fallu pour l’enfanter.

Formé en 2005 par trois rennais-clermontois multiinstrumentistes bricoleurs – Julien Chevalier, Benoît Lauby et Paul LoiseauLa TT !!! s’est fait connaître lors de la sortie de ‘Travail’ en 2009, puis de ’Salvage Blues’ en 2012, drôle d’album un peu tragique et extatique duquel débordait un blues martial et extra-terreste, psychédélique… sans en être vraiment. De fait, on a pu parler d’eux à l’époque comme d’un groupe – au choix – progressif, expérimental, labyrinthique, post-punk, folk-rock, électronique, industriel, krautrock, math-rock, new wave… autant d’étiquettes manifestant un certain vertige à l’idée de vouloir cerner leur musique, alors qu’eux ne visent probablement qu’à un carambolage entre une musique « pop » et une autre plus « savante. ». Sur scène, le groupe s’est par contre fait plus brut, doté d’une batterie-de-fortune maltraitée par un chanteur plié en quatre, deux guitares folles et un tas de bordel électronique. Après quoi ils ont passé trois années à sillonner les routes avec l’impressionnant ciné-concert «Tom & Jerry» ayant pour toile de fond d’obscurs cartoons à la saveur surréaliste des années 30, et au sein duquel ils ont troqué leur show électrique et frontal contre une instrumentation plus électronique et acoustique.

Aujourd’hui donc arrive ce ‘Fauxbourdon’, soit un recueil de dix chansons à la fois douces et menaçantes, étrangement inquiétantes ou délicatement anxiogènes, scrutant l’ébullition d’une vie « s’écoulant en un mouvement toujours à la limite de l’explosion ». C’est d’ailleurs plutôt chez les Bodysnatchers de Don Siegel, mais aussi chez Friedkin, Peckinpah, Frankenheimer et Aldrich qu’il faut chercher les premières inspirations du groupe lors de la composition de ces chansons. Ce « faux bourdon » auquel ils font référence y évoque moins la basse continue en musique qu’un mystérieux bruit de fond englobant l’existence, une sourde rumeur inaudible à l’oreille nue, un fog invisible mais « toujours présent », comme un faubourg (pour jouer sur les mots) rêvé par John Carpenter, ou la rémanence sonore d’une explosion passée.

C’est certainement l’album de La TT!!! le plus étrange, déroulant un songwriting alien, un peu freaky , aussi gracieux que grinçant. Les voix s’y font plus caressantes et lointaines, les guitares y sont plus fantomatiques, faisant la part belle aux timbres synthétiques et aux rythmiques primitives pas tout-à-fait électroniques… On croirait entendre des ballades grimaçantes futuristes, du R’nB progressif, de faux soundtracks de cinéma de genre italien… Çà et là sont disséminés des clins d’œil à la synthpop japonaise de Ryuichi Sakamoto & Haruomi Hosono, aux compositions d’Ennio Morricone pour Elio Petri, à la library-music de laboratoire (façon BBC Workshop, White Noise, John Baker, ou l’Aphex Twin de pianos et batteries modifiées), ainsi qu’à Robert Wyatt, Syd Barrett ou Arto Lindsay. On y entend même de belles et amples harmonies vocales, mais comme venues d’une Californie privée de soleil, autarcique, évoquant le Brian Wilson neurasthénique de la période « Smiley Smile », les morceaux les plus bizarres de Curt Boettcher (Sagittarius, The Millenium) ou les expérimentations pop de Jim O’Rourke. On y croise enfin Ernest Bergez – aka Sourdure – propageant son tralala en Occitan le temps d’une chanson et orientalisante ravivant « l’amant parti en guerre », ainsi que Samplerman (aussi connu sous le nom d’Yvang), l’énigmatique artiste se cachant derrière le collage foldingue de la pochette.

Cultivant l’évidence mélodique autant que l’expérimentation électro-acoustique, la présence pure autant que la dérive (des continents ?) imaginale, La Terre Tremble !!! semble nous chanter : « Less is more… but more is better », plus que jamais.

FORMATION
Julien Chevalier : guitare, synthétiseurs, chant
Benoît Lauby : guitare, basse, synthétiseurs, autoharpe, chant
Paul Loiseau : batterie, percussions, synthétiseurs, guitare, autoharpe, claviers, piano, chant


LIENS


PRESSE


CONTACT

Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

Promo (Juliette) : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

DISCOGRAPHIE

Concerts passés

Cliquez sur "date ", "ville" or "salle" pour changer l'ordre
  • DatePaysVilleSalleavec 
  • 15/12/2017FranceMassyPaul BOiseaux Tempêtes, L'Effondras infos event
  • 18/11/2017FranceMetzFestival Musiques Volantes - Les TrinitairesKokoko!, France, Up-Tight, Spoek Mathambo infos event
  • 17/11/2017FranceParisCentre FGO BarbaraPowerdoveinfos event
  • 16/11/2017FranceJoué-les-ToursLe Temps MachineBison Bisouinfos event
  • 15/11/2017FranceNantesHaus event
  • 14/11/2017FranceCaenLe BazarnaomPowerdove
  • 11/11/2017FranceBrestEn attendant Invisible - Le P'tit MinouValse Noot event
  • 10/11/2017FranceRennesL'AntipodeBRNS, Peter Kernel & Their wicked orchestrainfos event
  • 23/09/2017FrancePoitiersFestival Less Playboy is More Cowboy Yonatan Gat, LpLpo, Noyades, Sourdure, Acid Baby Jesus, Derby Derby, Don't DJ, NOT WAVINGinfos event
  • 22/09/2017FrancePauLa Ferronnerie event
  • 21/09/2017FranceBeauregard (Lot)Le Presbyt'hairMy Name is Nobody
  • 10/06/2017FranceNancyFestival Stereolitheinfos event
  • 09/06/2017FranceLyonLe Périscope infos event
  • 08/06/2017FranceAngersHeron Carré - « Le Chabada sort ce soir » infos event
  • 01/06/2017FranceRennesL'UbuAquasergeinfos event
  • 30/05/2017FranceParisLa Station - Gare des MinesWinter Family event
  • 13/05/2017FranceNantesFestival Wine Nat White Heat event
  • 12/05/2017FranceLanvéocFestival L'Ex-Îleinfos event
  • 05/05/2017FranceQuimperLe NovomaxOiseaux Tempêteinfos event
  • 21/04/2017FranceBordeauxIboatFujiya & Miyagiinfos event
  • 15/04/2017FranceParisGonzaï Night - La MaroquinerieChocolat, Mustanginfos event
  • 18/03/2017FranceRennesLes Agités du Bocal - Sonic Protest Festival178°, The Flying Luttenbachersinfos event
  • 17/03/2017FranceAllonnesPéniche ExcelsiorTomagainfos event
  • 01/03/2017FranceParisLe TrianonBlonde Redheadinfos event
  • 17/04/2015FranceSegréRépublique du RoCk #2 - Les Boissons RougesMy Name is Nobody, Fat Supper, Musicsova, Cavale Blanche event
  • 21/06/2014FranceLimogne-en-Quercy (46)Fête de la MusiqueFat Supper
  • 19/06/2014FranceSaint-Pierre-des-CorpsLe RexyFat Supperinfos
  • 23/05/2014FranceRennesFestival Musiqu'alambic, Le Jardin Moderneinfos event
  • 26/04/2014FranceNantesFestival Kraft, Pol'ninfos event
  • 26/10/2013FranceVendômeFestival Les Rockomotivesinfos
  • 22/10/2013FranceTroyesOff festival Champagnesinfos
  • 24/08/2013FranceCarellesFestival Terra Incognita infos event
  • 20/07/2013FranceColmarFestival du Natala
  • 15/06/2013FranceRupt-sur-Moselle (88) RUPT'URE FEST ( L'Espace Parier - Centre socio-culturel )Peter Kernel, Marvin & Kribi
  • 14/06/2013FranceParisL'Espace B Guili Guili Goulag, Kania Tieffer event
  • 18/05/2013FranceChateaulinFestival Sonore - Run ar Puns Oren Ambarchi, Thomas Lehn, Urs Leimgruber, Okkyung Lee, Jacques Demierre, Roger Turner, Dorothea Shurchinfos
  • 17/05/2013FranceLilleGare St SauveurThe Patriotic Sundayinfos
  • 09/05/2013FranceRouenShari Vari event
  • 08/05/2013FranceBourges L'EmmetropPeter Kernelinfos
  • 07/05/2013FranceBordeauxRock School BarbeySpectrum event
  • 23/03/2013FranceRennesL'Antipode - Festival 'Les Embellies'Boy and the Echo Choir, Bumpkin Island, Arch Woodman event
  • 22/03/2013FranceAgenLe FloridaElectric Electricinfos event
  • 16/03/2013FranceCherbourgLittle big placeinfos event
  • 15/03/2013FranceVilleneuve d'AscqLa Ferme d'en hautJune Bug and the Storytellersinfos event
  • 14/03/2013FranceLa Roche sur YonLe Fuzz'YonThe Exinfos event
  • 13/03/2013FranceLe Mans Le Baroufinfos event
  • 22/02/2013FranceBiarritzL'Atabale Piano Chatinfos
  • 21/02/2013FrancePauLa Centrifugeuseinfos
  • 20/02/2013FranceEscamp (46) Bar à T'Minfos event
  • 15/02/2013FranceMetzLes TrinitairesFiliamotsainfos
  • 19/01/2013ArgenteuilLa cave dimièreElectric Electricinfos
  • 12/01/2013AmiensLa Lune des PiratesHeadwarinfos event
  • 11/01/2013ParisLa MaroquinerieJC Satan, Catholic Sprayinfos
  • 10/01/2013NantesLe StakhanovSieur & Dameinfos event
  • 21/12/2012BordeauxLe Saint-Exinfos
  • 21/12/2012Bordeauxle Saint-Ex
  • 20/12/2012CahorsCafé musique des Docks
  • 19/12/2012ToulouseLe Saint des seinsinfos
  • 18/12/2012MontpellierLe Black Sheep
  • 18/12/2012MontpellierLe Black Sheepinfos
  • 16/12/2012PerpignanL'Ubu event
  • 15/12/2012Marseille Festival Nuit d'Hiver - Le Griminfos
  • 13/12/2012Le HavreLe Tetris
  • 01/12/2012St HerblainBibliothèque Hermelandinfos
  • 24/11/2012St NazaireLe Vip
  • 21/11/2012RennesBibliothèque Lucien Rose et du jardin
  • 17/11/2012ReimsFestival Pacemaker - Centre culturel du Crousinfos
  • 16/11/2012LyonLe Périscope
  • 15/11/2012GrenobleLa Bobine
  • 12/11/2012NantesLe Stereolux
  • 10/11/2012LimogesLa fourmi
  • 23/10/2012ParisLe Point Éphémère

NEWS

BIO

Cela fait maintenant dix ans que le trio La Terre Tremble !!! redéfinit à chaque nouvel album ses propres frontières, sa tectonique musicale intime, poursuivant sa quête obsessionnelle d’une musique chimérique et fourmillante de détails, illusionniste et délicatement chaotique, aussi évidente et mélodieuse que savante et sophistiquée. A défaut de pouvoir « arrêter le monde », les trois voyous expérimentateurs tendent toujours vers un particularisme un peu difforme et hors du temps, prenant le genre musical comme un cadre à transcender, et le son – qu’il soit électrique, acoustique ou électronique – comme matière première de constructions aurales précises, précieuses, aussi entêtantes qu’insidieuses. Leur nouveau disque s’appelle ’Fauxbourdon’, et qui sait, il vous faudra peutêtre autant de temps pour l’apprivoiser qu’il leur en aura fallu pour l’enfanter.

Formé en 2005 par trois rennais-clermontois multiinstrumentistes bricoleurs – Julien Chevalier, Benoît Lauby et Paul LoiseauLa TT !!! s’est fait connaître lors de la sortie de ‘Travail’ en 2009, puis de ’Salvage Blues’ en 2012, drôle d’album un peu tragique et extatique duquel débordait un blues martial et extra-terreste, psychédélique… sans en être vraiment. De fait, on a pu parler d’eux à l’époque comme d’un groupe – au choix – progressif, expérimental, labyrinthique, post-punk, folk-rock, électronique, industriel, krautrock, math-rock, new wave… autant d’étiquettes manifestant un certain vertige à l’idée de vouloir cerner leur musique, alors qu’eux ne visent probablement qu’à un carambolage entre une musique « pop » et une autre plus « savante. ». Sur scène, le groupe s’est par contre fait plus brut, doté d’une batterie-de-fortune maltraitée par un chanteur plié en quatre, deux guitares folles et un tas de bordel électronique. Après quoi ils ont passé trois années à sillonner les routes avec l’impressionnant ciné-concert «Tom & Jerry» ayant pour toile de fond d’obscurs cartoons à la saveur surréaliste des années 30, et au sein duquel ils ont troqué leur show électrique et frontal contre une instrumentation plus électronique et acoustique.

Aujourd’hui donc arrive ce ‘Fauxbourdon’, soit un recueil de dix chansons à la fois douces et menaçantes, étrangement inquiétantes ou délicatement anxiogènes, scrutant l’ébullition d’une vie « s’écoulant en un mouvement toujours à la limite de l’explosion ». C’est d’ailleurs plutôt chez les Bodysnatchers de Don Siegel, mais aussi chez Friedkin, Peckinpah, Frankenheimer et Aldrich qu’il faut chercher les premières inspirations du groupe lors de la composition de ces chansons. Ce « faux bourdon » auquel ils font référence y évoque moins la basse continue en musique qu’un mystérieux bruit de fond englobant l’existence, une sourde rumeur inaudible à l’oreille nue, un fog invisible mais « toujours présent », comme un faubourg (pour jouer sur les mots) rêvé par John Carpenter, ou la rémanence sonore d’une explosion passée.

C’est certainement l’album de La TT!!! le plus étrange, déroulant un songwriting alien, un peu freaky , aussi gracieux que grinçant. Les voix s’y font plus caressantes et lointaines, les guitares y sont plus fantomatiques, faisant la part belle aux timbres synthétiques et aux rythmiques primitives pas tout-à-fait électroniques… On croirait entendre des ballades grimaçantes futuristes, du R’nB progressif, de faux soundtracks de cinéma de genre italien… Çà et là sont disséminés des clins d’œil à la synthpop japonaise de Ryuichi Sakamoto & Haruomi Hosono, aux compositions d’Ennio Morricone pour Elio Petri, à la library-music de laboratoire (façon BBC Workshop, White Noise, John Baker, ou l’Aphex Twin de pianos et batteries modifiées), ainsi qu’à Robert Wyatt, Syd Barrett ou Arto Lindsay. On y entend même de belles et amples harmonies vocales, mais comme venues d’une Californie privée de soleil, autarcique, évoquant le Brian Wilson neurasthénique de la période « Smiley Smile », les morceaux les plus bizarres de Curt Boettcher (Sagittarius, The Millenium) ou les expérimentations pop de Jim O’Rourke. On y croise enfin Ernest Bergez – aka Sourdure – propageant son tralala en Occitan le temps d’une chanson et orientalisante ravivant « l’amant parti en guerre », ainsi que Samplerman (aussi connu sous le nom d’Yvang), l’énigmatique artiste se cachant derrière le collage foldingue de la pochette.

Cultivant l’évidence mélodique autant que l’expérimentation électro-acoustique, la présence pure autant que la dérive (des continents ?) imaginale, La Terre Tremble !!! semble nous chanter : « Less is more… but more is better », plus que jamais.

FORMATION
Julien Chevalier : guitare, synthétiseurs, chant
Benoît Lauby : guitare, basse, synthétiseurs, autoharpe, chant
Paul Loiseau : batterie, percussions, synthétiseurs, guitare, autoharpe, claviers, piano, chant

LIENS

PRESSE

DISCOGRAPHIE

CONTACT

Booking : jullian.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com

Promo (Juliette) : promo.muraillesmusic[at]gmail.com